My Letter of Intent to the Vanderbilt Nurse Residency Admissions Staff

To the Vanderbilt Nurse Residency admissions staff:

            As I prepare to graduate this coming May, I have had to consider who I was, who I am, and who I am becoming as I face the exciting transition from student nurse to RN. It is remarkable to think back to my first clinical semester, during which the thought of entering a patient room scared me half to death. I remember waking up each morning terrified that I’d “never make it” and clinging to the hope that Belmont would instill in me the skills and virtues necessary to be a successful nurse. It has been a long and difficult journey, one that has stretched and challenged me far beyond what I could have ever imagined, but I am now beginning to see the fruits of my labor.

            Belmont has been a valuable part of my growth in both the clinical setting and in life. The nursing instructors I have had over the years have done nothing but encourage and gently guide me in my journey as a nurse.  They continually dedicate their time, give of themselves, and share their knowledge and experiences. I have made the journey from fear to confidence in the clinical setting because of my instructors; they have modeled for me sound judgment, responsibility for one’s actions, and a joyful, giving spirit.

            As I look forward toward where I hope to be in the near and distant future, I see myself as a well-rounded nurse who is dedicated to a lifetime of learning, who is firmly rooted in nursing theory, and who is able to apply this theory to clinical practice. I see a woman who adheres to that which she believes is right, who puts her patients first, and who strives to work to the best of her ability. Finally, I see a human being who wishes to connect with other human beings by bringing joy, a smile, and hope to others during times of need.

             I chose to apply to Vanderbilt for two reasons. First, Vanderbilt is a teaching hospital that is committed to expanding the knowledge and experiences of its employees. I see the Vanderbilt Nurse Residency as a valuable opportunity for me to learn as much as possible during my first year as a nurse; I also see the Nurse Residency as a wonderful network of support from both my peers and my superiors. Second, Vanderbilt has a reputation in Nashville and surrounding areas as being the “go-to” hospital for exceptional medical and nursing care, which is something I wish to be a part of. I have a passion for cardiovascular medicine and am especially interested in your heart program, about which I have heard great things.

             I look forward to hearing from you!

Sincerely,

Elizabeth V. Lux

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

2 Comments on “My Letter of Intent to the Vanderbilt Nurse Residency Admissions Staff”

  1. steelstringed Says:

    You should keep writing posts!

  2. quiethere Says:

    hopefully you’ll get in


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

